Erin Coughlin Hollowell is a poet and writer who lives at the end of the road in Alaska. Prior to landing in Alaska, she lived on both coasts, in big cities and small towns, pursuing many different professions from tapestry weaving to arts administration. She earned her MFA from the Rainier Writing Workshop at Pacific Lutheran University in 2009.  She was the Rona Jaffe Scholarship winner in poetry for the Breadloaf Writers’ Conference in 2010. In 2013, she was awarded a Rasmuson Foundation Fellowship by the Rasmuson Foundation and a Connie Boochever Award by the Alaska State Council on the Arts. She was one of the inaugural recipients of the Alaska Literary Awards in 2014. She was awarded residencies at the Vermont Studio Center and the Willapa Bay Artist in Residency Program in 2014. In 2017, she was awarded a second Rasmuson Fellowship to work on her third book. Currently, she is the executive director of the Storyknife Writers Residency, a residency for women writers being developed outside of Homer, Alaska, and on the faculty of the Kachemak Bay Writers’ Conference and the University of Alaska Low-Residency MFA Program. Her work has most recently been published in Talking RiversAlaska Quarterly Review, Weber Studies, Terrain: A Journal of the Built and Natural Environment, and Sugar House Review, and in Prairie Schooner.  Pause, Traveler released by Boreal Books, an imprint of Red Hen Press, is her first book-length collection released in 2013. Her second collection Every Atom is forthcoming from the same press in 2018..

Download full curriculum vitae.